Welcome to the Education Department at Vincennes University!

(Pictured above: Third year Education students having fun with motivational speaker, Brett Easburn.)

 

The Vincennes University (VU) Education Department offers bachelor degree programs in the following:

The Education Department offers associate degree programs in the following:

The Vision

United as a learning community, we challenge our students and ourselves to the ideals of learning, teaching, and serving.  We envision a community of scholars who will learn with enthusiasm, teach with wisdom, and serve with commitment.

The Mission

Teacher education at Vincennes University provides the highest quality preparation for teacher candidates so they will learn, teach, and be of service to others.  Entering the third century as an institution of higher education, our teaching candidates are knowledgeable, skillful, and caring professionals who embrace and support diversity and enable all students to learn.

The Goals:

  • Provide a program of study that is research-based and aligned with NCATE standards, INTASC Principles, ACEI standards (Elementary Education), CEC standards (Special Education), NSTA Standards (Science), and NCTM (Mathematics) and the Indiana Common Core Standards.
  • Develop a professional education preparation program to shape the knowledge, skills, and dispositions that teacher candidates need to educate students in a diverse society.
  • Prepare teacher candidates who advance the use of instructional and assistive technologies across content areas and environments.
  • Develop teacher candidates who use theory to inform practice.
  • Encourage the development of teacher candidates who are reflective in their practice.
  • Recruit, support, and retain a diverse body of teacher candidates in the teacher preparation program and a diverse faculty who model best practices in professional education.
  • Cultivate and maintain collaborative relationships across all education constituencies, including university faculty, educators and administrators, students, parents, and community leaders.
  • Engage in service to the university, community and professional organizations.

Click to Schedule a Personal Tour

  Click to Find out more about VU  Click to get Started and Apply Now

Faculty & Staff

Rob Evans
Interim Dean of Social Science, Performing Arts and Communications 
112 Summers Center
812-888-5127
revans@vinu.edu

Curt Coffman
Interim Dean of Science, Engineering, and Mathematics  
812-888-4373
ccoffman@vinu.edu

 

 

 

 

Ann Herman
Chair, Education Department
110 Summers Center
812-888-5789
aherman@vinu.edu

 

 

 

Cynthia Ragle
Associate Professor
108 Summers Center
812-888-4179
cragle@vinu.edu

 


 

Stacey Bowling
Math Education Faculty
G16 McCormick Science Center
(812) 888-4547
sbowling@vinu.edu

Aaron Bruck
Science Education Faculty
D1 McCormick Science Center
(812) 888-5705
abruck@vinu.edu

 

Tara Norman
Education Coordinator
109 Summers Center
812-888-4148
tnorman@vinu.edu

Hope Clausman
Education Technology Faculty
116 Summers Center
812-888-4149
hclausman@vinu.edu

Lou Ann Lindsey
Early Childhood Education Faculty
A201 Shircliff Humanities
812-888-5304
llindsey@vinu.edu

     

 

Advising: Students are advised at VU by full-time teacher education faculty who are available during the academic year to discuss goals, career alternatives, and progress. Close collaboration between the student and the advisor contributes markedly to success.